SSC-32u how to create my own GUI

Hi, my project consists of a Hexapod robot. I am using a ssc32u servo controller to control my 18 servos (3 servos per leg, coxa tibia femur) to make the robot move. The problem now is that i am not used to this controller. Usually I use arduino or raspberry pi that have their own softwares where I can write the codes and send the commands to the controller via usb serial com. I have tried the SSC32 Servo sequencer utility and the servos work perfectly, but this software is very limited as it is quasi impossible to have an algorithm with it (is it?). So I have been suggested to develop my own GUI (I have never done this before). I would like to know what are the steps to do this. If there is anything I can refer to.

1 Like

@mouadh92 Welcome to the RobotShop Community. Given that you’re able to create your own interface for Arduino or Raspberry Pi, you can always use one of these two with the SSC-32U to control the servos. The SSC-32U is a dedicated RC servo controller which accepts a simple serial protocol which can be sent from Arduino (or example). Note that there already exists sample code (“Phoenix”) created by the hexapod gurus here which runs on an Arduino. Note however that the input is intended to be from a Lynxmotion PS2 controller, so you’ll need to modify it as you see fit. Refer to the bottom of this page for a bit more info:
http://www.lynxmotion.com/images/html/build99f.htm

If you want to create your own GUI, you’ll need to determine what you’d like to start with. For example, the SSC-32U sequencer was created using a software called FlowBotics, which can get you started with GUI creation very quickly:

However, you can choose a programming language and start with the basics, which would be a project on its own and be great experience. If you’re interested in UI creation specifically for robotics, the following terms will help jumpstart your research:

• Robotics Suite (MRDS, AnyKode)