Controlling more than 32 servos with the SSC32U and VSA

I have read several forums discussing possible solutions for trying to control more than 32 servos with the SSC32U and VSA. I wanted to see if anyone could shed more light on this topic.

I would like to use VSA and some combination of multiple SSC32U’s or the SSC32U and another board to be able to control more than 32 servos.

At first I thought the Adafruit PCA9685 16 channel board was the solution, but I do not think VSA is compatible with this board.

I know the BotBorduino can be used in conjunction with the SSC32U to control more than 32 servos, but I am not sure if VSA can handle this or if I would need to use a different control software/write a control software myself.

Any thoughts or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I am relatively new to using servos and the SSC32U.

1 Like

Hey @jacol_3006,

Welcome to the RobotShop community!

Wow! You must be building something big, complex or both! :open_mouth:

I think you hit the nail right on the head there. If you connect multiple SSC-32U to a computer they will each get a different COM port. Therefore, you should then be able to control each of them in VSA individually.

Yeah, I don’t think there is support for that board at this time. As far as I know, new board support is not currently in the works.

Yeah, to use the BotBoarduino you’d need to create a special sketch to do two things:

1. Control the RC servos on the I/Os of the BotBoarduino. Using the Servo library you should be able to handle about ten of those, maybe more.
  2. Add code to handle serial communication to accept “SSC-32U” style commands. This is not trivial, but also not too difficult, either. I’m sure there are some example code online doing something along those lines (parsing SSC-32U commands) that could be adapted to the BotBoarduino.