Why don't more programmers release their project code?

First, let me say that I’m new to the robotics competition scene. I competed this past March at an IEEE regional conference.

This competition required a pretty big learning curve for me - new programming language, never designed a robot before, etc. What I found is that there is a tremendous lack of non-trivial code examples available on the web.

Is the competitive atmosphere responsible for this? Is it just that this niche of hobbyist programmers have yet to embrace Open Source Software? What are your thoughts?

This has led our team of student programmers to make the decision to release all of our project code under the GNU Public License, in the hope that novice robot programmers will benefit from the wonderful learning experience that the three us had from our project.

There seems to be a lot of “code” on the net. As you don’t mention any particular hardware platform, operating system, programming language, or what you are trying to do, etc., your observation about a lack of code is open ended and doesn’t make much scense.

I was intentionally speaking in general - this is why no specific language or hardware platform was mentioned. I’m not looking for help on a project, so what I’m trying to do or what language I use or what hardware I use has no bearing whatsoever on my question.

In my search for helpful robot project code examples on the net, I found primarily code “snippets” or “nuggets” where someone on a personal site or forum would post a few lines of code in response to a request for help in a specific area, or with debugging their own code. You said there’s lots of code on the net - maybe I’m just searching the wrong places. Maybe there are some repositories of entire project code files for thousands of projects that I simply did not find - I’d really appreciate some links. No criticism of this or any other robotics community was intended.