Servo/actuator for RC zero turn lawn mower

Hello all, brand newbie here. I am looking into making my zero turn mower into RC control. I need two servos/actuators to operate the right and left forward/reverse levers. Moving them takes about 10 lbs of force, and there is about six inches of total travel. They would also need to be relatively high-speed units. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

1 Like

Hello @fabricator and welcome to our forum.

6 inches would be around 150mm, and 10 lbs of force is around 44N, and if we assume that you are suing 12V power, these two linear actuators with feedback should be good choice:

You can look at this datasheet to see if the speed is good for you also:

Looking forward to your reply.

Thanks so much for the reply, my main concern with a linear actuator is speed but I’ve only had experience with the trailer jack type units that are slow. 46mm/second does seem pretty fast. At $90 bux I could easily afford to get one and check it out.

1 Like

Just my luck :slight_smile: out of stock, restocking soon.

1 Like

They are available directly from acutronics no problem, for someone not in the loop on this stuff what does feedback do for this kind of application?

1 Like

@fabricator usually, simple linear actuators have built-in limit switches. This means that they can extend or retract until the end point when you apply the power and/or reverse polarity. But you cannot precisely control these and you don’t know in which position actuator is currently.

That is why there are linear actuators with feedback which can give you information about the position of the actuator and you can nicely control these. I guessed that you want these since you probably want to have ability to fine tune position of your levers.

Usually, these actuators are used with LAC board:

Feel free to ask anything else.

Ahhh, ok, yes I do. I already ordered the 46mm/sec one with feedback to check out. thank you this is an immense help to me.

1 Like