RIP - Robot In Process

Testing the CDRbot

This is my first attempt at building a robot.  I drew it up on paper and thought I was pretty smart for using CD's as a chassis.  I hadn't looked up robot designs on the web, and imagine that...  I wasn't the first to do it this way! 

At any rate, I purchased and scrounged parts, and over Christmas 2011 my boy and I assembled it.  It wasn't until this past weekend we programmed the Arduino and did a test run.  He thinks it's pretty cool to build robots with Dad. Not bad for a 4 year old.

Ultrasonic and Tactile Sensors, line following

• Control method: autonomous
  • Power source: 9V
  • Sensors / input devices: IR, ultrasonic, Bump Switches
  • Target environment: Primarily Indoors

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://community.robotshop.com/robots/show/rip-robot-in-process

Looks good! I used CDs for

Looks good! I used CDs for one of my bots as well, except I merely stuck everything together with tape, yours looks a lot more professional with the standoffs seperating the two decks. Can you give some more info about your bot and its sensors, program, etc.?

Bot Parts…

The servos are continuous from Solarbotics. I got the wheels from them as well. I’m running an Arduino Uno. I was going to use a PIC but got playing with the UNO and next I knew, I was doing a test run. I have the Solarbotics L298 motor driver to run the servos. I have an ultrasonic sensor for it. Not a Ping… I forget who it’s from. I have a couple IR sensors for line following, and some tactile switches for bump sensors. The picture is during initial assembly. While it is still clean, there are a few more components now.

I have found that I really enjoy programming the Arduino. Im still going to put the PIC in a robot as I have it almost complete in Assembly Language…

L298 for servos??