Remote controlled Rover 5 Robot

I have a rover 5 chassis (4 motors, 4 encoders). My goal to use this chasis to create a robot that drives around and is controlled by a remote.

I am new to robotics and I am unsure about how to assemble my robot chassis / what to do next. After discussion I have decided to use an Arduino Uno with this remote.

I already have the board pictured here as well as the Arduino Uno.

My Arduino Uno is the one pictured below:

I recieved the following parts, along with the chassis itself and a battery holder capable of holding 6 batteries (total 9V)

I am now in the process of connecting up the motors with the motor driver and the Arduino Uno as mentioned on this comment, and as below:

1. Connect a PWN pin on your Arduino to each pin on the board that says PWM.
  2. Take A regular digital output on the arduino to each pin marked DIR.
  3. (Optional) Take Analogu inputs on the Arduino to each pin marked CUR.
  4. Tie the ground and 5V of the arduino to the board. (top right by the Motor 4 output)

On the Arduino forum page, I have recieved the following advice on how to assemble my Rover 5 with an Arduino Uno

I have also been given an example code to get me started, that does not use the CUR pins or encoders, that 'should drive the robot around and give you [me] a place to start."

Click here to see the original comment with the code.

I have begun on this path, and I have already connected the PWM and the DIR pins to their locations as mentioned above.

Thanks in advance!

Drives around controlled by a remote.

• Control method: remote
  • Target environment: indoors mainly

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://community.robotshop.com/robots/show/remote-controlled-rover-5-robot

Thanks

Thankyou for your advice so far, I will have a look at the products you have mentioned over the next few days.

Arduino products

I already have an Ardumoto motor driver shield (from Tinyos)

ardumoto.jpg