My first project, lawnmower

Hi,

Im new to this forum, and new to robotics in general. The same could be said abou my knowledge about microprocessors and programming language (other than .html notepad stuff).
I have some basic knowledge about electronics, but nothing worth braging about.

But, i have been thinking about starting on a new project soon (I'm currently in the finishing stages of a little cnc project i have for cutting out rc airplane foamies...) which i would like to start this fall, and hopefully be done with before next summer.

I have for a long time been interested in microprocessors and what they can do, but I have not seen any projects that i really cared enough for to try out for myself as a first project (nothing that has had any real practical value for me), until I started getting bored with mowing the lawn this summer.. (lazy, huh?).
Therefore i have been reading up on different automated lawnmower projects out there on the internets, and i havent found alot, i found some commercial ones, and i think one on this page.

But i have figuered some things out for my self about what i want and a coupple things i can see i need.
I havent thought much about how much this project will cost, but im thinking something in the range of 4-6k NOK; that would be about 450-700 EUR

I need a frame for the thing, thats something i can handle by welding together some steel squared pipes and some sheet metal.

I need something to make it go forwards, backwards and such, so im thinking about a coupple wheelchair motors with wheels ive seen on ebay, since they usualy come in pairs for left and right. And having two motors makes steering possible without using servos to turn the wheels in front. I would probably also need some kind of speed control for these, it might depend on what kind of controller you think i should use.