Line follower bot

Hey everyone!

I'm new to LMR and I'd like to post my first robot. It is a simple line following bot. It can follow a black line on a white background and vice versa.

These are the parts I used:

• ATmega8
  • 2 hacked Servos
  • 3 CNY70 reflex optocouplers
  • 1 74HC14 schmitt-trigger

I built the robot because I got fed up with the other robot project I worked on and I wanted to get some kind of robot going. The idea of a line following robot seemed very simple. Just hook up 3 CNY70 to a schmitt trigger, connect this to the microcontroller and then let the microcontroller decide wich way the robot should go.

The robot needs a little more tweaking but actually it's pretty good at what it is supposed to do

Some more images:

ATmega8 "The brain"

The sensors

Tell me what you think :)

So long

Torrentula

Following a line

• Actuators / output devices: 2 servos
  • CPU: atMega8
  • Programming language: C
  • Sensors / input devices: CNY70

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://community.robotshop.com/robots/show/line-follower-bot

Very nice! Here’s a little
Very nice! Here’s a little walk through I wrote about batteries, It might help you out on 9V batteries, since they can be the source of many problems:

Hey Krumlink!I had just the

Hey Krumlink!

I had just the problem you described in your guide with the 9V battery getting drained by the 2 servos in minutes. The pictures are not up to date, because I added a second 7805 which is regulating the Voltage from a 9V Battery to 5V for the sensors and the microncontroller.

The guys from the german robot forum also suggested using NiMh batterys in AA size.

Thanks for your help!

Torrentula

Very cool! I like it.

Very cool! I like it.

Welcome to LMR, Torrentula!

Welcome to LMR, Torrentula!