Interfacing a Load Cell With an Arduino Board | RobotShop Community

note : for discussing any technical issues with your Load Cell Amplifier Shield, please proceed to our forum and create a new topic here.
General Specifications
Over the years, many RobotShop customers have asked us about the easiest way to interface a load cell with an Arduino board so they can

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://community.robotshop.com/blog/show/interfacing-a-load-cell-with-an-arduino-board

Hi, I would like to make a mat to sleep on and measure breathing using force / strain / pressure. I believe it should be possible to do this will cheap components such as https://www.robotshop.com/en/sfe-piezo-element.html arranged in an array in a mat the person would sleep on. Although the pressure changes are small, they should be quite measureable (~1% change in pressure as the lungs expand / contract). Unfortunately I have no experience in hardware so I’d like to find either an existing kit and purchase it or a detailed tutorial.

Is anyone else interested in a breathing detector like this? Thanks in advance!

Allan

@allan Nice project, but we’re not aware of any kit which addresses that type of application. You’d need to learn about programming, microcontroller, electronics and sensors.

Hi is it possible to hook up a loadcell on one channel of the loadcell shield and also an LVDT displacement transducer on the other channel of the loadcell shield?

@mathews The Load Cell Shield is intended to work with Load Cells (strain gauge devices). We didn’t test it with with displacement transducers so we can’t confirm that it’ll work.

Is it possible to stack two Load Cell Shields onto a single Arduino, allowing the reading of a total of 4 Load Cells? The board looks stackable in this way, but I don’t see how to change the analog input pins that would be used for the second Load Cell Shield.