Help using servos for my PC case mod

Hi everyone, Just to get off on the right foot, I’m a deffient a Noob at this! I’ve been trying to search this forum for some answers to what I’m trying to do, but the problem is I don’t even know what to search for.

I have little background in programming or robot building, but I do have some background in rc Servos.

Here is what I’m trying to do. I built a computer case that has some motorized doors on it. They are connected to some hitec servos. what I want to happen is when I turn the computer on, the doors open, then when I shut the computer off, they close. thats it! just a simple open/close.

What do I need to do to make this happen? I’ve looked at all the servo controller boards, Atom chips etc. and to be honest. Like my title says, I’m in way over my head. So if anyone can please help me out, I would really appreciate it!!!

Thanks

I can’t say I’ve done anything like this, however, my first thoughts would be a serially controlled SSC32 running the servos.

You could then use something like this url to edit the Windows startup/shutdown scripts to send the appropriate commands to the board.

If you save the SSC commands in a text file called open and close ( assuming 2 servos, channel 1 and 2, and the open/close postions are 2000/900 respectively):

c:\autodoors\open
#1 P2000 S750
#2 P2000 S750

c:\autodoors\close
#1 P900 S750
#2 P900 S750

Something like the DOS commands would do the trick:

TYPE c:\autodoors\open > COM1
TYPE c:\autodoors\close > COM1

Mounting the board and sourcing the voltage in there is entirely up to you, but you would have plenty of options in there.

Matt has summed a good solution pretty well with his post, provided the script has time to run before power gets yanked.
You might also want to include a line in the script to make sure the com port is at the correct baud rate before copying the file… something like
MODE COM1:9600,n,8,1