First Robot/ BarkTrack

Hi All,

I’m new here and first off I want to say what a fantastic site this is. It’s certainly inspired me to build my first robot, which is going to be based on the start here robot. I’m new to all this and have no experience of robotics, electronics, or programming, so any help will be gratefully received.

After viewing this site, I’ve decided to build my robot, at present I have no project board, or any other components, or any money to buy them with for that matter. My first thoughts were to venture into the attic and look for an old RC car, or something like that I could use as a base. Something with a gearbox already in place. Unfortunately, I found no RC car. I did however, find something much better than that. I found my favourite childhood toy, that had not worked for many years. I found my old Bigtrak.

(Does anyone remember Bigtrak? It’s been re-released this year. Yes I’ve bought one.)

So, Bigtrak sadly died many many years ago, so I’ve now stripped out all the old electronics ready for new going in.

The years of storage in the attic have also taken their toll on Bigtrak though. The front axle has snapped in half, the 2 rear axles have snapped off altogether, with one remaining unfound, 2 pieces of body trim are missing,  a thick coating of sticky dust is in all the crevices and the batteries left in the battery box since sometime in the 1980’s have leaked everywhere.

Not to worry though, strip the whole thing down, and after a good clean up, all the sticky dust, the brown battery sludge is all gone and the wife is non the wiser Bigtrak’s been through her dishwasher.

I’ve now repaired Bigtrak’s front axle by screwing a metal plate to it, holding it together. The rear axles were a little harder to fix, especially since one was missing. I found something suitable to replace this with though. I’ve drilled the center of the axles out and used metal pins to hold them to the chassis.