Which micro-controller etc should I buy?

As some of you may be aware, I'm still very new to this pastime, both with regards to electronics and programming, but have built a couple of bots which have been reasonably successful, using an Axon II Microcontroller, shown here http://www.societyofrobots.com/axon2/.

I am finding it extremely difficult to get on with the C language (I'd never even heard of it until about 3 months ago), but I do seem to be able to "read" basic fairly easily.

I notice that a lot of people use various types of MC, including Picaxe and Arduino etc, but I know nothing about them.

I think I want to buy a Picaxe, which presumably uses Picbasic, but need some advice.

The Axon II is, as far as I am concerned, a very good MC with lots of facilities already built in, and an extensive library for various different sensors etc, so I really want a comparable Picaxe MC plus all the ancilliaries needed to be able to program it etc.

Can someone please tell me everything I need to buy (I'm not worried about cost, initially), that will allow me to have the same sort of functions as I have with the Axon II.

Please chip in with any suggestions you may have.

Thank you.

ok.

Well, right off the bat…