'Where to start' suggestions

Hi All,

I have just joined this forum so this is my first post!

I really want to start building my own robot but I don't know where to start? I am a C# programmer so have lots of experience of coding and I have had a look around and seen that the Picaxe chips are programable.

My question is - where should I start? Is there a particular place I should start bearing in mind my C# knowledge? Are there any kits out there that I can use C# with?

Thanks in advance for any advice you may have for me!

James.

Start here

Hi James,

Welcome to LMR. As so many who have asked the “where to start” question before you, you’ll get the same answer from anyone answering. Click on the start here link top left of this website and follow the tutorial.

If you program C#, reading the attached code that Frits provided, will be easy to understand so focus on the electronics.

Also: download the picaxe software and read the manuals that have good examples of coding and how to attach devices.

Thanks for the pointer

Thanks for the pointer mintvelt I’ll take a look!

Is the Picaxe kit the mainstream for everyone or is it just a ‘starter’ kit?

The picaxe kit is good for

The picaxe kit is good for starters, hence the name. Picaxes are programmed in basic as far as I know.

An arduino and a picaxe starter kit are pretty similar, but the arduino language used is much like C so you might feel more at home.

Yes - the Arduino looks very

Yes - the Arduino looks very good and I understand the language straight off which is always a plus!

I have been researching all afternoon and I have a couple of questions which may be obvious but I just dont know the answers:

1. What happens when you run out of inputs/outputs on the Arduino - can you add more?
  2. What happens when the code excees the size of the memory - again - can you add more?