Wave motion machine

I’m a retired engineer and I built a wave motion machine as a Christmas present for my wife. What started out as a pretty cheap project (under$100 for materials) now has turned into a mission and I’m currently well over $200… So much for cheap! Eventually I’m going to get this accomplished!

Hopefully someone is familiar with a wave motion machine. Here’s a brief description. I made an acrylic box 24"L x 4"H x 2"W. Filled with 2/3 clear oil, 1/3 dyed blue water. By moving one end of the box up and down about an inch and a half slowly the water moves slowly like a wave. There’s a pivot point on the bottom middle. Towards one end underneath I put a 5 rpm, 12 VDC gear motor with a cam that slowly lifts and lowers the wave box.

My problem is the noise being generated by the motor. The three gear motors I’ve bought off Amazon so far generate noise about as much as a VERY loud electric razor or hair trimmer. And even worse, when the cam is lifting the wave box, the noise frequency goes lower, higher with reduced load going down. Also, when it gets over the crest, because of gear slop, there is noticable additional noise (and looks bad visually) when the gear tooth shifts from one face to the other (hopefully I described this adequately). I packed the gear box with grease which helped a little with the slop / shift. I also made an insulated enclosure over the motor that only reduces noise a little.

I also bought a DC servo motor with a speed controller but it has no torque and stalls at 5 rpm.

A stepper motor with micro stepping might work mechanically but certainly not practical for this project.

So anyhow, this thing is supposed to be relaxing. All this variable noise is really just irritating.

I know this topic isn’t really robotics but I came across this forum while searching for another motor. I figured one of you techno geeks like me might have some suggestions. Looking forward to some feedback. Thanks, Dan

1 Like