Using resistors - what the hell do they do?

First off I'm no expert but I have gotten a bit wiser about what resistors are good for and how to find the right ones for a specific purpose. I will tell you about two important uses of resistors.

Limiting current so things don't burn

Let's say you just bought this amazing new component called an LED that you want to use in your robot. You plug it into your circuit and turn the power on. Poof! Smoke and fire everywhere (ok that's maybe a bit over the top, but you get the idea). What happened?

Well the LED is a component that has very little resistance so a lot of current can flow through it even if the applied voltage is small - it is almost like a short-circuit. The great amount of current will destroy the LED (maybe because of the heat or something - I don't really know why) and you will generally not be very happy with the result.

In order for the LED not to burn you have to limit the amount of current that is supplied to it and this is where resistors come into the picture.

Resistors are components that obey Ohm's law:

U = R * I

Which says that the voltage-drop U across a resistor is equal to the resistance R of the resistor times the current flowing through the resistor.

If you put a resistor in series with the LED (either before or after the LED) you will limit the current going through the LED to the amount of current going through the resistor (which can be calculated as I = U/R where U is the supply voltage to the circuit minus the voltage drop over the LED - you can just use the supply voltage as U since it will only result in less current than you expected and not the other way around).

If you happen to buy a package with assorted LEDs like I did you can check the package to see what the maximum amount of current they should have is - on the ones I bought it said 50 mA maximum but standard LEDs