Track design for tracked robots

I am brand new to the robot hobby with questions about track profiles.

The high sided triangular track profile of Wall-E or Johnny 5 looks really good, but seems to make inefficient use of track links. Other than good looks, is there a good design reason for this profile?

Of the other general profiles available (parallelogram - WWI tanks), (rounded rectangle - Christie type WWII tanks), (inverted trapazoid - short base down), what are the relative merits in terms of efficient use of links vs. object climbing ability?

Of these, which tend to cause the most stress on the links, and which cause the least?

Thank you for your assistance.

Track Design

Hi TechnoBuf,

You will see the Wall-E arrangement on BullDozers, it has the advantage the it puts the final drives closer to the middle of the vehicle and having the drive sprocket higher means the track tend to self clear rocks and crap which you can pick up when turning; this reduces thrown tracks.

The rombod tanks from WW1 were designed around the minimum radius wheel which would cross the trenches then in use.

The convential approach with the drive at one end at a similar level to the idlers puts the powerplant and transmission at one end of the vehicle (usually the rear) and leaves a big crew space (well it’s not, it’s very snug because there is a lot of stuff in there with you.). This also serves to lower the profile, handy went people are shooting at you. Picking up rocks is less of an issue with the modern tank but if you look closely at some of them they have plow like arrangements to clear the tracks before the sprockets.

As for climbing, the convential approach is the best normally you can get up verticle steps a little bigger than the height from the ground to the front idler/sprocket. The max gradent depends on a lot of things, Hp, transmission, traction, surface and so on.