TOBI - The Tool Bot V.3

COMPLETED: 2011.12.08

This is my first robot built from scratch and I am new to robotics. I haven't played with electronics for over 25 years and I have a little programmed expirience in many versions of Basic dating all the way back to the days of the TI-99 computers.

In short, I am a total Neebie in Robotics and if I can do this, anyone can too. 

Started on 2009.05.02

Ever since I first read about a robot that had thermal sensors that enabled it to follow its human controller in the Summer 2007 edition of Robot Magazine, I have dreamed of building a Robot to lug around my Laptop and all of my networking tools. I also thought that it would be so cool as an IT Consultant to have built my own personal robot to carry my tools around.

Enter TOBI

TOBI used to be ToB1 for tool bot 1 but my wife liked the name so that is how the name was chosen. I decided that TOBI was going have 6 phases of developement. Each phase has a mission and will may include the functions of prior phases.

TOBI 1 - Development on the run (Completed 2009.05.29)

TOBI 1 will have the same Chassis as all future versions except TOBI 6. It will be able to carry my Laptop and tools (when I trust it or myself enough) As seen in the picture, it is capable of carrying my current Laptop/tool case. It will be completely remote controlled. It has no sensors and is capable of being driven into trouble like off curbs and into objects. I will use this to test the types of sensors and mounting locations for my sensors.

Parts List for TOBI 1

TOBI 2 - Propeller conversion (completed 2009.11.14)

TOBI 2 ( ADDENDUM: Convert to Propeller Controller  ADDENDUM: Replace the BS2 controllers with the Propeller Controller. Abandon the Position Controllers and directly control the HB-25's with standard servo pulses.

Parts Added:

TOBI 3 - Semi Autonomous plus idiot proofing (Completed 2010.06.25)