The Robot Pot - Drinking my way into robotics

It's a well known fact that 97.3% of the UK population (babies included) are alcholics; according to the government definition of binge drinking anyway. Well I follow in that proud national tradition, but nevertheless think it would be good for the body if I could cut down. I've also decided it would be good for the soul for me to get into robotics and doubly as good if it could be neutral for the wallet.

robot_pot.jpg

I studied for a degree in Maths and AI and have always had a great deal of interest in robotics, however until I found out about the robots constructed here (thank you YDM), I had no idea how cheap these sort of controllers had become. The last time I looked into this, you were staring down the wrong end of several hundred quid. Unfortunately, living in the UK a lot of the prices mentioned here translate pretty instantly into pounds (despite an exchange rate of about 2:1... grr), which still makes £120 quid worth of gear a lot to burn because I can't solder for toffee.

All of which brings to the the point of the post: my cunning plan to drink beer less and make more robots. I have decided that every time I choose to substitute a drink for water, I'll put the money saved into the robot pot! When I have enough, I'll buy a chunk of the bot and play with it until I get enough for the next bit.

So the first chunk is of course the Pixace 28x1 starter kit. So far the pot stands at a mighty £17.26 tiddly pom!... hmm. Well I've not been at it for long.

Long life and robotics!

Update

Ok, so after some serious pint dodging the pot is now at £52.50, (I rounded off the pennies). But reality has struck and I know it makes more sense to get everything from the same shop at once. So I'm waiting on must £5 pounds more. Easy.

Too right! thats great that

Too right! thats great that your not drinking as much any more and your speech using words like tiddly and toffee. lol pretty cool