Space Balloons, Rovers, & Radio Controlled Airplanes!

We are thrilled to have a guest blogger this week, Scott Fitzgerald.  We think you will really enjoy his project/story!

I would like to introduce myself to the ServoCity Online Community.  My name is Scott Fitzgerald.  I am a Commercial Pilot with a background in Aerospace Engineering.  Over the past few years, I have been an active parent/volunteer in my local school district promoting Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) education.

My work with the school began while participating in my employer’s educational outreach program.  This quickly evolved into something much broader and has ultimately inspired our school district to launch a curriculum enhancement initiative to place more emphasis on STEM education.  Our projects have received some great media coverage which is fun for the kids and promotes awareness in the community.  Projects include three near space balloon launches, a radio controlled airplane design project, an electrical energy demonstrator, converting children’s ride-on vehicles to solar power and our latest endeavor, the Planetary Rover Project.

Here is video footage of the space balloon project.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a792DP0i9aE

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5V_djXWvCj4