Servo problems!

I'm having a lot of problems with the servos I'm using to build a quadruped robot. I should start by mentioning that I bought the servos from Dagu like 4 years ago, BUT most of them had never even been unpacked until recently.

The problems are the following:

(1) Some of them make clicking noises when being turned beyond a certain point. It sounds like they are trying to turn beyond their max. capability, even though they are well within the normal range (eg. 30-40 degrees).

(2) Before putting together the bot I tested them all and set them to 90 degrees, but yesterday when I started programming a lot of them had moved so that I had to set them as low as 75 or as high as 115 to get a 90 degree angle. And generally they seem rather inconsistent with the angles. Meaning that I have to use very different values to get equivalent angles in the different servos.

(3) I'm also getting quite a bit of noise and jitter from them. Some of them sometimes even sound as if they are working beyond their limit, even though they may be at 90 degrees without carrying any weight.

(4) Whenever I upload a new Arduino sketch and start up, the legs of the bot goes totally spastic, but perhaps this is normal?

(5) Ah and one was working just fine for quite a while and then suddenly stopped. Now it doesn't move at all.

I have noticed that some folks use resistors on the signal wire, from the Arduino to the servos. Apparently to protect the servos. Could doing this possibly solve some of the issues?

I also know a lot of folks use caps to sort of normalize the current flow in servo circuits. Again could this solve some of the problems? I was under the impression that this was more of an issue when using batteries, and currently I'm using a PC power supply, which supplies a very steady 5V and plenty of Watts.