Serial communication with goBILDA Dual Mode Servos

Hello. I have been doing some projects with goBILDA dual mode servos. These are RC servos that have two different operating modes (regular servo mode or continuous rotation mode). The mode can be selected using a servo programmer that goBILDA makes for this purpose.

I wanted to be able to change the mode while the project is running, instead of having to bring it back in and use the programmer. I already use an Arduino microcontroller to control the servos in my project, so I wanted to use that to change the mode of the servo as well.

I studied the programmer and found that it uses serial communication back and forth with the servo. I found out that the programmer can issue at least two serial commands to the servo.

1. One of them asks for the mode of the servo. The servo sends a reply indicating which mode it’s in.

2. The other changes the mode according to the command that is sent.

Other than that, I don’t understand the messages that are being sent between the two devices. Does anyone here know more about it? Are there other commands, like can I use the serial communication to find out the position of the servo?

1 Like

Hi @Chronister and welcome to the forum!

I see that you got pretty deep into this topic, which is good.

I didn’t understand, it the end, if you were able to change the servo mode or not?

Regarding the serial communication. Can you maybe share some sample files where we can see which data is exchanged? I used to do some similar things on my previous job.

As you already mentioned, probably what you see all the time is servo sending out its current position.

Hi igor_X,