Seeking Advice: Selecting Electric Motor and Power Source for Musical Robot

Hello All! This is my first post. I am a relative novice to electrical work and robotics. I have experience wiring my own guitars and putting together effects pedal kits, but that is essentially the end of it.

So, I have a project that I would like to use a small electric motor for. It is a single string electric guitar type device designed to produce one note in a droning fashion. I'd like to use the motor to spin a wheel that will vibrate the string and produce sound through the pickup and out to an amp. I'd like this to act as a fourth member of a three piece band I play with to generate additional musical depth.

I don't think that it needs to be particularly powerful, so I am hoping for a recommendation that allows for a 9v battery as a power source. Ideally, I can pickup what I need at a Radioshack (USA, Gainesville, FL) and knock it out this weekend for an upcoming performance. I would also like to be able to adjust the speed, so I am thinking maybe a linear potentiometer would work?

I apologize for my lack of knowledge and thank you all for your advice in advance! Thanks!

BONUS POINTS for an easy EBow project that will get a nice drone going!

Have you considered

using a pager vibrator motor or similar? Their specs are 3v +/-, low current. You might consider a 555 PWM circuit to pulse the motor, maybe?

What I’m Trying To Do - Thanks!