Samantha

About Me

So, I'm new to LMR, I thought I'd document my current project here.

I'm a software engineer, and must confess to having very little contact to hardware. Probably more than the average person, but probably not as much as most here. That means my progress is going to be slow at first as I accumulate parts, and my work will be shoddy for want of proper tools. Below, you can see me cutting plexiglass with a pocket blowtorch and knife:

Samantha

Samantha is based on the 2 motor/encoder Rover 5 chassis, with a Spider board and the 4 channel motor controller. This will be my first substantial arduino project. Despite the two boards being compatible in terms of size and mounting, I have operated to separate them. There are two shelves/platforms. The first is raised for ample access to the battery compartment. The motor controller is on the lower shelf (I may move it *beneath*  if I want to mount more components. The arduino board is on the upper shelf, towards the back for easy conneciton with components (LCD, ranger) mounted on the same shelf. Between the shelves is ample space for a spare batter pack - or any components (eg. GPS) that do not need to be visible.

Currently I have no wire to connect the boards together, so I'm waiting on the postman.

To Do

• Basic Wiring
  • Mount forward/back/left/right ultrasonic modules
  • Bluetooth
  • LCD
  • Upgrade to 4WD?
  • Code for autonomous roaming
  • GPS?

Objectives

My primary goal is to create an autonomous, roaming and navigating robot to gain experience with arduino and generally broaden my horizons. I'm a computer vision research student, and due to personal and professional interests I would like to experiment with segmentation/image tracking, using arduino as the platform for low-level tasks.

Update - 05/03/2012