Rover Kit for a Kinect project

Hello,

I’m a student of robotics and I’m interested to buy one Rovers Kit.

But I’m not sure which could be the best option of Kit, for this reason I’m writting in the forum to search some help of us.

I’m interested on a rover robot to control it with a controller. I need to put on the robot the Kinect camera of Xbox 360. I need to know which kit could support the electronic components and the Kinect (weight 600gr).

The chassis sizes I would like roughly 30x30cm.

The maximum price for the robot I’m searching is 300€

Thank you so much in advance.

I wish you could help me.

Regards,
Pau

Hello @Paumi,

Please have a look at these two Rover Kits:

They are both in your price range. First one has a bigger chassis (approx. 20x25 cm) and a bigger payload up to 2000gr but for the second one I like that it has a platform above its wheels.

Also, feel free to put you project in Robots section:

Good options, though keep in mind that neither have electronics. You’ll likely need a motor controller, microcontroller, battery, charger and wiring (among others).

Thank you so much for your options.

Paumi

1 Like

Hello everybody,

My project have changed some specifications. Now I’m searching a robot plataform with a enough payload to resist a Kinect camera, laptop and som electronica.

Also, I want a remote control, batteries, encoders… campatible with the plataform.

Thank you so much in advanced.

Best Regards,
Paumi

@Paumi Some questions:

1. Do you have a budget?
  2. How will the handheld remote interact with the laptop for control of the motors?
  3. Will the platform be used only indoors and if not, what is the environment?
  4. Do you need any special features like omnidirectional motion?

Dear cbenson,

First of all,

I would like to have a plataform with all my requisits for no more than 600€, but this price with plataform, remote control, encoders, batteries…