Rolf Robotsson

My first robot project!

This is my girlfriend's old stereo, I thought it would be more fun to be able to
drive it around rather than never be using it. 

Rolf Robotsson

Progress

I'm just getting started, everything's a mess =)

Rolf Robotsson

I'm using an old Netgear wireless router hooked up to an ethernet shield on my Arduino.
This way I can communicate wirelessly to any of my computers or mobile devices, and
with its own local network. This is not the best way to do it, Rolf gets really heavy and
there's not much space left in there, but it works!

The heavy weight is also due to the six 1.5v batteries which are kept in the original
battery compartment. 

I'm using my own iPhone, Android and Mac apps to control him.

September 29

I've now hooked up an MP3 Trigger V2 to the speakers.
The board supports up to 18 mp3 files, so I will fill the SD card with things that will make Rolf talk =)
Things like "yes", "no", "okay"... 18 things to say is not much, but it will be AWSOME!

I'm getting some new parts tomorrow, and I will hook the mp3 trigger to the Arduino board then.
I've ordered an Arduino Ethernet and a motor driver shield. This way I can get rid of the
Ethernet shield and some of the wire mess... I'll post an update tomorrow!

September 30

Had some trouble with the Ardumoto Shield, seems like it's not compatible with the Arduino Ethernet board =(
It uses the same pins, and I'll need extra long stackable headers to make it fit the Arduino Ethernet.

But the Mp3 Trigger is now hooked up to the speakers, and it works great! 

Parts:

1x Arduino Uno (will be replaced by an Arduino Ethernet)
1x Ethernet Shield for Arduino (will be replaced by an Arduino Ethernet)
1x MP3 Trigger V2
1x Netgear WGR614
2x Micro Metal Gearmotor
1x Pololu Wheel Pair 32x7mm 

I'm getting most of my parts from www.lawicel-shop.se here in Sweden.

Hanging around

• Control method: Mac, WiFi, iphone, android
  • CPU: Arduino Uno (atmega328)