rhex

hi guys i am fabricating a modified form of a rhex. i am a mechanical engg graduate and i know nothing abt electronics . can you guys tell wat are the electronic configurations that are requied. like pic or pid or ic8085. wat sofewares can be used for interfacing. wat kind of material are to be chosen for leg design . the budget is within $400.

A little more information on

A little more information on what you are trying to accomplish would be helpful. I found some info on RHex at this site:

http://ai.eecs.umich.edu/RHex/RHexversions.html

What are the specifications you are building to? What you need for electronics, processors, and software depend a lot on your physical platform and what you want it to be able to do.

For example, the original RHex 0.0 platform had six 20W DC brushed motors with 33:1 gearheads for locomotion. Is this what you have or something different?

more info

actually i am trying to build it with stepper dc motor. it should avoid obstacles,climb small things like stones ,steps.

dimensions say length 30cm.height 20cm,breadth20cm,…then which sensor is better?

wat abt electronics can i use pic or arduino(i just read abt them in the forum) ?how to interface?programming guide?kit for it?

then my main modification is that the curved legs should have extra suspension system and springs so that the motion can thrust it further

i am building it on rhex 0.0

i am building it on rhex 0.0 platform no idea abt gear transmission. my design is under progress. i will upload my design sooner may be within a week. everyone here is saying to use PIC. but i am a beginner. can i use it or an arduino instead.

where can i download programming softwares for arduino and for other controllers

tasks—the RHEX should check whether the obstacle is small .if yes, then it should move over it. if not it should turn around and take another path.regarding battery 9v battery.wat to do?

There are many processors