Remote over internet bbgun turret for pest control

I’m brand new with building robots, so please excuse my ignorance here: I’m in the pest control industry and we occasionally have rats that are very “trap-shy,” meaning they can be surrounded by rat traps, but never actually go to them because they or other rats they’ve seen have had bad experiences with them in the past. So we’ll essentially catch all the dumb rats, then spend 6+ weeks trying to catch the “smart” rat.

My solution is I want to design a system where I have remote control over a mounted co2 powered bb gun that I can aim and fire via the internet. My rough plan so far is a Pi 4 powered system with a 2-stack adafruit driver setup to power 3 nema 17 stepper motors (400 steps for increased precision). 1 motor will turn the entire platform 360 degrees, the other will control vertical tilt of the gun, then the other will operate a screw to squeeze the trigger. However, where I’m having issues is figuring out a system to have a live feed that I can see through a scope to shoot the rats remotely online. I need to be able to have something set up that has virtually no latency so I can take advantage of shots when they appear without having to buffer. Is this capable over wifi, or would I have to ethernet it in? wiring up a camera directly into the raspberry pi is easy enough, but the issue is mounting that camera precisely to see through a scope and also be able to have IR capability as these shots would be in the dead of night. I’ve also wondered if I can buy a digital scope and hard-wire it into the video slot of the PI too?

I’ve been researching for about 6 hours today and want to know if I’m wasting my time chasing this or if this is an idea that will actually work as well as I’d need it to. Any ideas on how I could figure out the live-feed via scope that can be reliable and accurate would be extremely helpful.