Raspberry Pi Dagu Rover 5 4WD driving issue

RPi-with-LLC-and-Motor-Controller.png (23194Bytes)

Hi there,

I'm very new to robotics & I'm having an issue getting the Rover Wheels to spin properly. I've been able to get it to turn only in 1 direction, but only 1 channel at a time. When I attempt more than 1 channel, either they both slow down drastically or 1 stops turning while the other spins very slowly. (I guess this is a sign of power drain)

Below are a list of the parts that I'm using:

1) Raspberry Pi 2
2) Adafruit 8 channel bi-directional level shifter
3) Dagu 4WD motor controller
4) Dagu Rover 5 4WD chassis w/Encoders 

Attached is my wiring diagram.
Note: I'm using the RPi GPIO to send the PWM signals as well as control the direction pin.

Please let me know if I'm on the right path, and if you need further info just let me know.
Thanks for your assistance in advance. 

Wiring Diagram

Your wiring diagram shows PWM & DIR both set to steady state values. Do you have a scope or logic analyzer to verify that PWM * & DIR are behaving as expected? Pulsing the PWM via RPi software loops is likely to be quite sloppy. Many builders install a cheap Arduino style board that talks SPI or I2C to the RPi and generates PWM for the motors.

PWM Scope Test

Hi there,

thanks very much for your reply. I have tested the PWM signal that is being generated via the RPi, and it’s ok, though not as clean as compared to a hardware generated PWM signal. 

I am able to vary the PWM via code and see the changes in a single motor. The Dir Pin however is what’s confusing.

For instance, a Low Signal on the Dir Pin should cause the wheel to rotate in an opposite Direction as opposed to a High Signal.
However, the wheel will only turn on a High Signal (4.75V => ~5V). The Low Signal that I’m getting out of the LLC is ~2.45V. So, I’m guessing that that voltage is not registering as a Low Signal.

I can upload a video of the issue, if you like.

Thanks.