Questions with circuits

I am making a new robot, and I am having trouble finding what I need to make the circuits work.

Basically I have about 3 input sensors, 2 motors, 1 servo, and a datalogger.  What would be the easiest way to put these together, should I use a breadboard or circuit board.  And do you think I would need any other ciruit components.  I am new to this so any help would be appreciated.  Thanks.

**You are likely to get the most help if, **

you get more specific. Just counting your connections, I could see that you would require at least 7 pins. Without knowing what kind of sensors you wish to connect or how the datalogger will be utilized/connected to nothing more can really be said.

If the sensors were all just switches, you could get away with as little as 5 pins. It would be very useful if you were very specific about what you want.

For example, I want to connect a Sharp GP2D120 to my PICAXE. What do I need to do?

You would likely be pointed to the very useful manuals that Rev-Ed has for their PICAXE line of chips. After which if you still had questions someone should be able to help or offer some insight.

As I stated in the first place, please be specific about your request for information.

Specific Questions with circuits

For sensors I want to use two sharp IR sensors, a wheel watcher rotation encoder for gm 2/3/8/9, and a HM55B compass module.  

The two motors were either gm2/3 motors and a HXT900 servo.  

The data logger was a Gravitech microSD card adapter that I was going to use to just store information gathered by the sensors.

I was thinking of using a PICAXE microcontroller, but am unsure which one I would need.  

My original question still stands as what would be the easiest way to assemble these.

You will require