Qns regarding ATtiny

Hi all,

I'm considering a low cost solution for my next project & i stumble across the ATtiny.

what I needed to do requires only 3 digital I/Os.

I'm new to the ATtiny & it seems that the programmer costs a bomb.relative to the chip.

Any recommendations for the programmer and the IDE?

Thanx

I have this one

I have this one http://www.pololu.com/catalog/product/1300 . Should work with all the Attiny and Atmega and it works with the AVR studio IDE. Not to mention its other features you can read up on. I have used it the the AVR Studio IDE and an Attiny85v. AVR studio can be downloaded here: http://www.atmel.com/dyn/products/tools_card.asp?tool_id=2725 dont worry its free.

AVR studio is free; I

AVR studio is free; I downloaded it and installed no problem. I am looking into the same thing myself and have a few watches set on eBay, like this one:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=200460739146&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT

$11.50 US delivered. I don’t have one yet, but the feedback rating says to me they work. The reason I haven’t pulled the trigger yet is that unless actually programming the units is part of your job, you may be better off going with a Teensy or similar unit for development.

AVR Dragon

I use the AVR Dragon which includes Debug Wire, HVP & jtag.  It’s a steal for what you get, but $50 is a decent chunk of change. 

If you’re only doing the project for yourself (and you’re only going to make a few of them), why not use a chip with a bootloader?  Then you can bypass the expense of a programmer altogether. An Arduino is $30 and includes the chip.  Additional chips are 3 or 4 bucks. 

But if you are going to make 20+ units, you’ll want a programmer that has HVP (ICSP is kinda slow), and you’ll save money with a smaller ATTiny.

If my project is approved,

If my project is approved, I’m definitely be looking at >20 sets.