Programming Language

I've written most of the mechanical aspects of my robot in C++ (native to Arduino DUE) and am moving on to the brains, which is a Raspberry Pi 2.

I'd like to write this in a higher level language than C or C++. I am annoyed at the hoops I have to jump through to deal with strings and for that matter arrays.

I see two main choices, Python, and there is a Python 2.7 and a Python 3.4, and Node.js. What I have at the moment is OpenCV with Python 3 bindings, pocketsphinx, and eSpeak.

My thoughts of the moment is to run OpenCV on Python 3 since that is set up.

For the speaking / listening end, I am unsure. I like that Node.js can run asynchronous, I also have a fair knowledge of javascript. I haven't worked with Python, but it looks like it is not hard.

Much depends on what already works, and of that I have little knowledge. 

Who can shed some light here?

I have some real doubts about running both on the same PI, although neither has to run continuously. Putting the audio on something like a BeagleBone Black might make sense. And that brings up ROS (Robot Operating System), that is not hard to run a Pi2, but frankly I don't understand it. What docs I have seen on it leave me more confused. Who has a good pointer on just how ROS works? Or a brief explanation...

On another note, I'm taking my quadruped cat out to be painted today. I have a friend that makes a living painting aliens and robots, so LMR might get to see this ridiculous project I have been working on. I think it is a bit of a stretch here though...

For the Due, do you program
For the Due, do you program it using the Arduino IDE in their language? That is not exactly c++, but it is close.

C++ has a lot of different ways to do strings. I like the low-level ways of string handling that c has if you use the proper functions to handle the strings. There should be even less problems with the c++ string objects.