Programming help, sharp IR mounted on servo

Hello

I am trying to control my bot using a sharp IR sensor mounted on hitec servo with arduino mega. The pseudocode i have so far is as follows:

1. Set servo at 90deg and read IR sensor value
2. If val > 200, then stop the bot for a second
a. Turn servo 0 deg completely and read ir val
b. if val < 200 then turn bot left
c. else turn servo 180 deg and read ir val
d. if val < 200 then turn bot right
e. else if cant turn right or left, reverse a bit and then turn the bot 180 degree and go straight.
3. repeat

What happens now is that the bot goes forward, if the IR reading comes within 200, the bot turns 180 and goes in that new direction. It doesnt pan the servo left or right. On two occasions it did turn the servo, but that was only to the left (0 deg).

Have i missed something here? Im just learning how to program, so perhaps someone could suggest a far better method?

I know this code is extremely crappy, but what i was hoping, if it works, was to modify it so that the servo pans say in intervals of 30 degrees, takes a reading and stores it. It then calulates based on the readings the best route(ie with least obstacle distance) and moves the bot in that direction. Im not very sure how to implement this either.

Any help would be appreciated. Thank you

Code:

#include <MegaServo.h>
#define IR_pin 0

int IR_val = 0;

MegaServo servo1;

void setup() {

Serial.begin(9600);
pinMode(50,OUTPUT);
servo1.attach(50);
servo1.write(90); //center servo intially

}

void loop() {

IR_val = analogRead(IR_pin);

if (IR_val > 200) // obstacle detected
{
motor_stop(); // Stop both motors...
delay(1000); // ...and pause for a second
servo1.write(0); // Turn servo left completely and scan

if (IR_val < 200) // if left seems to be clear
{
turn_bot_left();
delay(535); // Turn till bot has turned 90 deg left
servo1.write(90); // center the servo

}
else
{
servo1.write(180); // Turn servo completely right and scan