Powering a Peristaltic Pump in a Compact Case - Drive Question (quarter turn timing belt)

Hey all, I am new here and a newbie to robotics building. I am a fish biologist and have a passion for building things. As a fish biologist, we utilize a technique of collecting free DNA present in water and analyzing for specific species. This basically involves filtering water through a fine micron filter and sending in for analyses. This us usually done with a hand pump (tire-some) or a peristaltic pump to filter 5L of water at a time (generally <5 minutes to filter).

I am trying to solve the problem of making a more compact, more durable, and lighter-weight peristaltic pump more conducive to carrying miles and miles to sample remote mountain creeks. As of right now, most peristaltic pumps for this purpose are fairly bulky and here is an example of the “industry standard” GeoTech GeoPump

I would like to design a system similar to this and utilizing a similar peristaltic pump head. HOWEVER, I would like to condense the entire design to fit into a compact Pelican Case so that it is entirely self contained. The basic idea of this would be to relocate the drive system off at a right angle, compared to the inline system available in most Peristaltic Pumps, to fit into a small case.