Power distribution (total beginner)

Hi folks,

After years of thinking about it I've finally started to build my first bot. I know next to nothing about electronics and microcontrollers so I have a steep learning curve ahead!

I started my project by buying a kit - the Dagu Rover 5 '2WD' kit . I'm planning on coupling this with a Raspberry Pi and some other bits and bobs. In brief, the way I'm dreaming it is that the RaPi will be the 'brains', which in turn controls the Arduino (Red Back Spider), which in turn controls the motors of the Rover 5 ... 

Which leads me to my first question - how to power everything? The motors seem straight forward enough - attach battery pack to the correct terminals on the motor controller and the job is done. However that still leaves me needing 5v for the motor controller logic, 7V - 32V for the Red Back Spider, 5v for the RaPi and probably 5v 3A for a USB hub (WiFi, webcam, etc). Having two power packs seems logical to me - one for the motors and another for the 'brains' - but I'm really not sure how to handle the disperate voltage requirments etc.

TIA

Huw

You might be able to get

You might be able to get away with powering the Arduino through the Ras-Pi, and using one pack combined.

Battery Pack 1 -> Ras-Pi -> Arduino -> Sensors, etc

Battery Pack 2 -> Motor Controller -> Motors, Servos, etc

You would power the motor controller logic through the arduino 5v logic.

Here’s an analogy that might help: You have a soda cup with a straw.

Voltage = size of the straw. The bigger the straw, the stronger the flow of ‘juice’ you’ll pump.

Current = size of the cup. The bigger the cup, the more ‘juice’ you’ll have available to pump.

I believe this is correct, if it’s not I hope someone smarter than myself will come along and correct me :slight_smile: Hope it helps!

Missing post?

Am I the only one who can’t see my last post? Strange …

**Apologies **