PCB project - stackable mini-modules

So, my “PIC control board PCB” project has been so fun that I’m thinking of doing another PCB project.

But I haven’t decided what it would be yet, so I’m open to suggestions.

The parameters are:

• I plan to use the ExpressPCB “miniboard” service, which means that it will be 3 boards, each 3.8 X 2.5 inches.
  • It will involve surface-mount parts (because I’ve never done that before).
  • I will probably want to design 2 or 3 smaller circuits for different things, and lay them all out to fit in 3.8 X 2.5, then cut them apart myself.
  • It’s best if it’s something that I can use 3 copies of, since that’s how many boards I’ll have.
  • Something involving a PIC would be cool…

One off-the-cuff idea would be a very small servo controller - one that does only 4 or 5 servos. Sorta like a “tiny SSC”.

Another idea is a self-contained telemetry transceiver, using those little 434 Mhz modules from SparkFun. It would include a PIC to provide a simple serial interface and such.

Pete

Well, there are other really cool micros out there that need a good carrier board and such. One is the Parallax Propeller chip. I so want to use this as the brain of my Walk 'N Roll bot when I start building it. I don’t like the Parallax support hardware for this chip at all and would rather see an Atom Bot Board style of board for it, perhaps a board with built in Bluetooth (maybe using that cool 3.3 chip from Sparkfun).

Having a Bluetooth link on a robot would make it insanely easy to see what it is doing while it is actually running around. :smiley::smiley: Just point your favorite IDE at the com port for the Bluetooth adapter on your PC and there ya go after you pair it with the robot.

I think a board with a Propeller and a super PIC I/O processor would be VERY COOL, especially if it has Bluetooth also. The PIC could be used for controlling servos, sensors and whatever else and talk to the Propeller via I2C and/or other protocols, maybe even CAN.