PCB design software (EDA) for Linux users

I am using my Ubuntu laptop more and more often. And today I found myself wanting to throw together a simple schematic for posting on LMR. So I needed to find a CAD program for that. One that works on Linux.

Shouting in the shoutbox is fun and all, but valuable info gets lost. So please everyone, use this thread to post your experiences and recommendations.

So far I discovered in my Ubuntu (10.04) repository:
kicad
geda
eagle

google them for links or downloads. I will post my experiences with them here as I gather them.

opamps_pot.png

Hi Rik!

I have limited experience with Eagle only - I have seen Spice and Gspice lying around for ever.

sudo yum -y install geda-gaf 

will get geda installed on Fedora 

this appears to be parts site http://gedasymbols.org/

Requirements:
For me autoroute would be a requirement for any PCB package & the ability to “easily” edit or create new component packages

KiCAD
I use KiCAD quite a bit. It has a few cons, such as limited part selection, but nothing a little time won’t/can’t fix. It offers plenty of features, a 3D view of your board and components and supports the most common formats.

Autorouting

You can go to http://www.freerouting.net/ to route the board…and "it fits together with FreePCB, Kicad, gEDA, CadSoft-Eagle "

I only use Linux…period… and refuse to use M$ when there is plenty of open source software and hardware in the world!

I also use code:blocks and/or eclipse with plugins for my programming, also open source.

Just my opinion.

in addition to those, you

in addition to those, you could try fritzing.

geda seems limited

Tried my first circuit with geda. I am moving on to the next proggie now. This geda just does not feel right to me. I had to crop this image with an external program before I could use it here.

Do’h

Geda zooms in to a region of the schemtaic and THAT part is exported into an image…

Eagle for Linux