Out of the shadows, into the unknown & some questions

Because I couldn't find an introduction section anywhere and because this is my first post (yes I was that lurker) I'll take the liberty to introduce myself.

I'm a Dutchman, 39 years old and living in the northern part of the Netherlands. I've been fascinated by robotics since my early childhood, but I never got further than buying some toy robot. My nick, for those who wonders, is from a tag on the chest of the eighties Magnatron robot I got as a kid. Since it's written in large letters it has to be something important, but you can call me Paul as well.

Anyway, I spend some time - actually over a decade - thinking about buying some stuff and start building. Now is the time, better late than never. I was biased towards Pic controllers, because they're cheap and programmable in simple compilable basic. But, I have no experience with microcontrollers so I'm going to buy an Arduino although I dislike the C like syntax. In fact I dislike C syntax in general, but mastering it opens a lot more doors than platform dependend languages. (I used to be a programmer for trade in a 4th generation language, Windows only.)

That brings me to the questions. Well almost, first I have to tell you what I want to do: I'm interested in artificial intelligence (and some other applications) so I need a controller with quite some memory to be able to run the code and speed is something not to neglect either. I'm not delusional and don't expect to be able to build a C-3PO copy. I'm already very happy if I'm able to build a robot with "intelligence" close to an insect, that already is a huge task.