OK, finally signed up and a few questions

Hi everyone.

After many days of looking around this site, I have finaly signed up, and, hope to start my new robot very soon.

However, I would like to ask, is it a case that the imagination really is the limit, or does the technology cause concern?

I ask this as I eventually would like to create a robot with advanced AI, and that can "learn".

I was also woundering if anyone has connected 2 or more MCU's to provide extra power, and maybe run larger, more complex code for these reasons?

I welcome any advice.

Thank you,

Regards,

Steve

If you count the box I drew

If you count the box I drew a face on and taped to a (tethered) remote control toy car, I’ve been building robots for almost 50 years.  Over the years, I’ve seen interest in robots come and go with changes in technology.  I’ve bought books by David Heiserman, Frank Stafford Jr, Martin Weinstein and Gordor McComb.  But I’ve never seen so much interest AND progress as we’ve had the past few years.

A few things seem to have come together all at the same time.  Interesting robots on film and TV that just beg to be duplicated.  Cheap and easy to program micro controllers. Open source software of all sorts.  Easy and low cost access to all sorts of electronic and mechanical hardware from all over the world.  And mind meets like LMR.

You’ll spend a lot of time agonizing over how to solve specific problems, studying software and searching and collecting parts from all sorts of sources.  But if you put enough reasearch and effort into your project, yeah–You can accomplish pretty much anything you can imagine.

We had this entry a while

We had this entry a while ago https://www.robotshop.com/letsmakerobots/node/28121
(I must admit I still think it’s a joke)

That said I think building any kind of AI on a small microcontroller is rather futile. Then you probably should do all your processing on a regular PC and have the robot as a frontend.

Thank you…