Newbie says hello

Hello everybody.

As I am completely new to this hobby, and the forum, I thought I'd better say hello before posting numerous questions I have to ask.

As said, I'm very new to robotics, electronics and especially programming, but am determined to learn, and enjoy myself along the way.

I retired not long ago (probably why it's taking me ages to understand the programming side, especially - aging grey cells), and my family bought me a Robonova 1 kit, to keep me occupied. Failing eyesight, and shaky bones, meant it was certainly a challenge with all those small screws. I have since made a new head for him, I didn't like the one he came with, and it didn't move, so that's been changed. I'm also currently making a pair of hands for him, along the lines of the Mellissa hands, but having only hand tools and no proper workshop, they aren't particularly good. As I nicknamed him Bob, these are going to be Hand Of Bob.

I have also built a Photovore using a tutorial on Society Of Robots, and have also added a Sharp IR for obstacle avoidance. The programming of these took me ages to do, as I am new to this as well. Even learning to flash the microcontroller was a hurdle. Anyway, both work, and gave me a real buzz when they did so, especially the obstacle avoidance.

Having looked at all the robots built by the members here, I don't think my efforts are worthy of posting pictures/videos, but I am determined to learn more, and certainly congratulate all of you on your expertise, and thank you all for a great site.

Hi, Kelpy. Welcome to

Hi, Kelpy. Welcome to LMR.

Thanks for introducing yourself. It sounds like you’ve taken a look around the site. Hopefully you have taken a few minutes to read the Rules, which will make your participation more effective for everyone.