New beginner with Robotics

Hello,

I'm an absolute beginner with robotics, and would like to make a serious start, but I'm not sure where to start, should I read books first? I want to buy the tools and parts I need, but I don't want to spend a lot of money, and then I can't use it.. 

Maybe someone can help me! :)

Thanks in advance!

+1 ossipee’s suggestion

Another option is to buy a PICAXE or an arduino and learn to program one or the other. Blink a LED. Blink a LED with a switch. Control a LED’s brightness with a potentiometer. Control a LED via keyboard input from the computer. Send the potentiometer data back to the computer via serial. If you were to add a transistor circuit to the pot/LED circuit, you could be a step closer to learning to drive a motor. It really boils down to how you learn. Do you learn by example, or, do you learn by doing?

To add on to what has been

To add on to what has been said, I really liked this book.  It will definitely save you money and has plans for at least one robot.

http://www.amazon.com/Robot-Building-Beginners-Technology-Action/dp/1430227486/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1392498108&sr=8-1&keywords=basic+robotics

Some people might not need something so basic, but I certainly did! 

Welcome to LMR.  Good luck and I look forward to seeing something cool from you soon.

Regards,

Bill

**Double post. **

Double post, sorry!

**Conclusion **

So everyone here just started by making robots I guess right? I think the best option is to just give it a try and follow a tutorial and just try making it, or maybe I could go for a kit… I don’t know. :slight_smile:

I started wanting to build robots when I was 12-ish. I’m 43 now.