Need recommendations for cheap solenoids and something to control them

I’m completely new to robotics, but I want to play with some solenoids (I think)… so I’m looking for some recommendations on what to buy. I want to experiment with some haptic ideas, like feeling small taps/pressure on various body parts. My first thought was to get a bunch of cheap solenoids to play with. I noticed all the actuators are too expensive to buy a bunch for this, so solenoids look like they’re in the price range, and I’m looking for low push range, like 3-5mm. Hopefully they are quick/responsive? I found even cheaper ones on ebay: https://www.ebay.com/itm/12V-DC-Suction-Micro-Electromagnet-Spring-Push-Pull-Type-Rod-Solenoid-Magnet-4mm/153089629798?epid=7020120932&hash=item23a4da5e66:g:0gMAAOSwDZJbE~bJ I don’t know what sort of specs to check for when shopping besides the push/pull distance, so if there’s anything about responsiveness/pressure let me know. I’m a software engineer, and I’ve played with a raspberry pi once, so I’m confident I can figure out the technical with some documentation. I’ve got a PC running Windows 10 and I’m used to Visual Studio if that matters.

So, here’s what I’m looking for recommendations on:
-Any alternative components I should consider instead of solenoids? Cost is a big factor because I want a bunch of them.
-Which components would you recommend? Would the cheap solenoids I linked from ebay do the trick?
-What sort of controller or other device(s) do I need to operate several of these at once…like 10, 20, or even 50 of them independently? If that’s too many to do independent, one alternative would be something like 10 groups of 3-5 operating together.

Thanks!

I can help with the last question immediately. The others will have to wait.
To control the solenoids you need a single bit output port that can provide the amount of current the solenoid requires and a diode to damp the “inductive kickback.” If you don’t know what that is just ask.