Need Help on RC Components

I am new at this. I am just about finished building a 300 lb yard bot. It has 2 Invacare motors , 1 on each side driving 2 golf cart tires thru sprockets and chains. It will turn like a skid steer.
I am looking at the Sabertooth 2x60 Motor Controller and will be using 2 automotive style deep cycle batteries with a solar panel for charging.
So now I need to find a Transmitter that will control the 2 motors. I need about 150 yard range . 2 channels or more? Does a receiver come with it to hook up to the Sabertooth ?
A lot of the Transmitters I see are for airplanes . I really don’t need all of those functions. It would be nice to add a camera to this at some point. I will post pictures of my build soon. Thanks

Hi,

We are unsure if this motor controller will fit your requirement, as this would require more details on the exact motors you are using (and their detailed specs for that load). Make sure that the chosen motor controller matches the specs of the motors.

As for the transmitter / receiver, what kind of control are you looking for? With most of the Sabertooth controllers you can use them with many interfaces so that gives you many choices, such as:

]RC transmitter / receiver pair/:m]
]XBee-compatible module (Bluetooth, XBee, WiFi, ZigBee, LoRa, etc.)/:m]
]Other serial communication modules/:m]
]Various remote relays with some passive components/:m]
You can find many of those components here and here. Please let us know what kind of control you are looking for, such as will it be controlled by hand, or by a microcontroller (autonomously?) or maybe touch interface?

A simple 6-channel RC receiver such as the RB-Rlk-03 would work well with a Sabertooth set to RC mode (and differential drive). You would only need 2 channels, of course, but it would make getting started / testing very simply.

Let us know more about your setup and use case and we can offer more specific advice.

Sincerely,