My first Robot- basic drive system

This is my first project so far. I have got the basic forward system almost working, and was wondering if anybody had any tips/improvements? It runs straight and I have made the treads tighter to get more force from the wheels, and it turns fine.. got some pics, just done quickly from my phone.

I think that with everything from only 3 AA batteries, the motors are not getting the power they should. I may connect some kind of rechargable power pack as well. the treads are coated in correction fluid to reduce friction a bit. I also found that an LED can be run from the output pins using the motor driver, allowing lights that are on/off depending on the direction of the robot.

The next step

I will probably add a SRF(04, 05 or 08) with a servo, and may add a laser diode for some cool effects.

drives

• Actuators / output devices: 2 MFA multiratio gearboxes with RE140 motors
  • CPU: Picaxe 28x1
  • Operating system: Picaxe 28x1
  • Sensors / input devices: none so far

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://community.robotshop.com/robots/show/my-first-robot-basic-drive-system

I think your tracks are too

I think your tracks are too loose.

Nice paint job :smiley:

does having loose tracks

does having loose tracks make much difference, particularly to the turning?

I will probably change the box sometime soon for a CNC cut custom base. The advantages of being in school…

Well… if your wheels are
Well… if your wheels are spinning, and I can see the tracks are dangling…

Easy Way, Hard Way

Hmmm… Fritsy’s right. If the wheels are turning but not the tracks, then the tracks aren’t tight enough. In fact, I can see from your second photo that the track is floppy. Much too loose.