Multicolor Lightsaber

Built few light saber before but this is my first multi color Lightsaber. LED string was finished years ago but never really finish this project and I think it's time to pick it up again before the Starwar VII will be here soon. Again, I am not good to explain thing in words so I rather using more images to support my post.

Here we go. First, get RGB LED x 70  and band the legs like this:

ls1.jpg

Weld them in a string and do the test while you welding them in case you might falling asleep and weld the wrong color pin:

ls2.jpg

Put them into foam tube for protection and for diffusion purpose. After that, put them into polycarbonate tube (never use acrylic tube, too fragile). BTW, I did this in 2013 and never touch it again until now.

ls3.jpg

I bought a mini lathe last year and this is my first time using it to make this hilt:

ls4.jpg

I use the Arduino Leonardo campatible board Beetle from DFrobot. It's very small to fit in the hilt even it only has 8 pinouts. Also, I use their MP3 player as well. These 2 tiny boards are ideal for limited spacing projects.

ls5.jpg

At the back I use 3 NPN transistors to control the LEDs. 3 colors, 3 transistors.

ls6.jpg

BTW, I am very weak in picking up what resistor I should use on projects. I forgot which resistor I pick 2 years ago. So, if anyone can show me how to do this in proper way will be much much appreciated.

Measure the spacing and length to fit all these into a tiny tube. The hilt is about 12" long with OD 1 1/4" x ID 1".
I am trying not to take those out so I also insert a charger plug beside switchs:

ls7.jpg

Re-wire the core unit and insert into the hilt:

ls8.jpg

The 8 Ohm 2W tiny speaker at the end with 3D printed housing.

Now here is the ugly part to make this big hole on hilt. I cut and shaped an aluminum plate for buttons and plug to make it easier to do wiring and welding outside of hilt. Then use 4 M3 screws on coners to put this plate on top of the hilt.

ls9.jpg