Motion Tracking from stationary observer

Hey guys..

I have an issue at my house right now...Young hoodlums of unknown origin have been sneaking onto my property and stealing things off my deck, and animals have been getting into my garbage.

I want to build a robot that when motion is detected with a passive ir sensor, a webcam will activate and start recording, however I want the sentry to track the movement with some precision, since the target (hoodlum or rodent) will be of different sizes.

So my question is, do I use an PIR sensor array to track movement? How should I go about doing this? Does anyone know any good references on motion tracking?

sorry for all my questions I'm kinda new at this.

Thanks in advance

pir would be too sensetive

pir would be too sensetive from my understading of how it works plus it wouldn’t give good directional information(quadrant maybe??)…

I’ve found things like this that look promising when I was looking to do something similar…

http://www.robot-electronics.co.uk/htm/tpa81tech.htm

you could also use a cmu-cam but thats another expensive toy…

http://www.cs.cmu.edu/~cmucam/home.html

but they are also a bit pricy… :frowning:

You can do an array of ir sensors and recievers set up along a known intrusion path for short range intereference detection,(if the signal is broken then thats where a camera would point) but the amount that you need for a yard could be a bit much. Still…the much antiquated but still very effective, floodlight at the slightest mottion I’ve found works wonders plus blinds said hooligans. :slight_smile:

yet another way is using a standard computer web cam… most come with software that detects motion(changes in pixil density??) and can be set to be very sensetive. I don’t recall if you can get any output data and use it, but it’s possible.

Laptop motion tracking

Airsoft automatic turrent

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RxBa5bQfTGc