Microcontroller choice

i have  a problem: i only have on uc, an arduino, and have to build a tx unit with some cheap ebay radio modules. does anyone have any suggestions as to a small microcontroller for this unit. it only needs 2 or 3 channels.

i was thinking about a picaxe 08m. it has 3 analog inputs, so 3 channels wouldn't be a problem. i could also obtain a 3rd channel using this 555 adc circuit, or this guide, making full use of the circuit.(i was inaccurate)

Anyone have better ideas?

thank you

i forgot to mention i have

i forgot to mention i have no picaxe experience

Here.

Computer --> USB/FTDI --> Picaxe 28x2 --> TX unit. Your joystick and other input devices also go to the picaxe chip. Now you can go any direction you want… Joystick to TX, Computer to TX, Joystick to Computer and Computer to Picaxe. This set-up will allow you to do the tweaks you need to do to get the cheap TX unit to work via the picaxe, not the computer so it will be much easier.

There is just a 3 or 4 dollar difference between the 08m and a 28x2 (about the same you would spend to build and add your 555 circuit) so I see no reason at all to do this with a 08m. Also, the 08m runs a 4mhz so you will have to over-clock it to get up to any reasonable baudrate (I am not sure a 08m can do this). From there, just find frits’s post on getting these TX units to work and you will be all set.

running 08M @ 8Mz

They can. I do. So they can drive an RF link @ 4800 b/s.

using this

using this guide: https://www.robotshop.com/letsmakerobots/node/13843 would work without the need for a 555. that leaves 1 free digital out pin, which makes full use of the 08m, so i can have a small handmade joystick for all projects.

Let’s break this down.