Microchip PICs - Getting Started

MicrochipLogo.gif

What's one of those?

A Microchip PIC is an example of a microcontroller. Basically, a tiny but very complete computer in a single chip. The PICs have their own program memory, CPU and RAM. Most of them now have their own on-board clock, serial interfaces and ADCs as well. All in one little package. Faster processors (although less RAM) than my first home computer (a Sinclair ZX Spectrum).

Oh, I must address one unfortunate misconception: the PIC does not REQUIRE a bootloader. Many folk use a "PicAxe" which is a PIC programmed by the PicAxe people with a bootloader which will accept specially compiled programs using a BASIC compiler. We will not require a bootloader, but I can show you later why one might be useful. (I'm no PicAxe expert - please correct me if I'm the one under the misconception.)

Which one should I get?

The 16F84 is the first PIC I used. It's extremely well documented, with tons of example code all over the web and the ICSP (in circuit serial programming) works the same as on any other PIC. HOWEVER, it does require an external crystal oscillator and a pair of capacitors as the timing circuit and an external resistor to keep it out of programming mode. Also, it has no analog inputs or any of the fancy gubbins.

So.... I would recommend the 16F690. You can run it with NO (count them: zero) external components. It has a built in 8MHz clock (convenient because it means 1 command = 500ns execution time (except for jumps and conditions which can take two cycles). It has I2C (slave only), a built in asynchronous (ie RS-232 style) serial port and up to 12 analog inputs. If you want it to be an I2C master, there are loads of freely downloadable examples of "bit-banging" in code.

Engineering Smaples