MARS ROVER Autonomous Desert Roving Robot (Help Needed)

Autonomous Navigation Requirements

Guy's I'm completely new to this and just ordered my first prototype kit with the following components as a starting point.

1. Arduino UNO Rev3

2. Dagu Rover 5 4wd

3. Parallax PING

4. Motor shield kit

In sum, here are my project requirements.  I've been searching the web and LMR to find snippets of code that I might be able to use and am now reaching out to the forum to see if anyone has any interest in sharing some more specific code for my prototype.  My prototype is essentially to prove that I can wander a desert-type terrain (rocks, scrub brush, sand, inclines, declines, etc.), similar to the Mars Rover and cover the area like a lawnmower.  Obviously, the robot's ability to move through this terrain will be platform specific; however, for "proof of concept", I'm thinking to build this as if it's in my backyard and put some obstacles in the way.  I think these are some of the more specific basics that I haven't found yet. Can you point me I the direction for the additional components that would work well to accomplish the following tasks? Also, any snippets of code that would help would be tremendous!  

1. I need to be able to enter GPS coordinates and have the robot navigate to that point;

2. I need to be able to have the robot navigate around obstacles larger than say 6 inches, but over obstacles less than 6 inches. (obviously this is platform specific)  If the robot decides to go around the obstacle, it needs to stay within 12 inches of the obstacle as it completes a 360 degree turn around the obstacle. (Let me clarify, I'm only using 6 inches to illustrate a point.)

3. If the obstacle can not be navigated around, it needs to proceed as if it were a boundary (i.e. a big wall, like in a desert wash)