Mapping 3d point clouds with Héctor slam and a lidar is possible?

Hello everyone.

I’m new to lidar systems and looking for some information so please forgive if the questions are stupids.

I’ve heard about lidar Slam and Ros and I’ve seen some companies as Slamtec that sell lidar systems with Hector slam incorporated. As far as I understand this Slam is what make possible to locate the lidar sensor in real space and then generate point clouds used to map an space.

My question is if I can use any of this affordable lidars and create 3d point clouds to generate 3d mapping as well, and what should I need to generate a 3d point cloud of for example my room.

Could someone please give me some orientation about this to start researching how could I get 3d point clouds or make me some rovommendation? Thank you very much in advance!.. I would really appreciate any help

1 Like

Hello @Zorin and welcome to the RobotShop community,

I’m no expert in the field but I’m pretty sure you can only generate 2D point clouds with the 360 Lidars Slamtec offers. However, it is possible to create 3D maps with the 2D points by using 3D mapping software, again I’m no expert but doing a quick search on Google I found this:

You could also check the Multi-beam Scanners section to see if one of the sensors available could work for what you have in mind.

There are also 3D scanners but the options available in the store are either too expensive (IIIDScanPRO Asus 3D Scanner) or not suited for room mapping (Matter and Form Portable 3D Scanner V2).

I hope this helps :grin:

1 Like

Hello Geraldine,