LSS and serial printing commands in Arduino

Hello,

I’m pretty new to Lynxmotion products and Arduino, so I apologize if this is a very trivial question.

I’m working with the LSS-HT1, and using Arduino to send it commands using a Arduino Mega 2560 and the LSS Adapter Board.

In trying to run and debug my own script, I’ve run into the issue of the LSS Communication Protocol commands being printed to the serial monitor every time I send a command to the servo. For example, this is what prints to the serial monitor when I run LSS_Sweep (example from the Arduino library):
LSSserialcommands

In some cases this is convenient, but for my purposes I would rather not see these commands every time. Is there a simple way to suppress this output while being able to print other data to the serial monitor?

My first thought was that it has something to do with this line:

// Initialize the LSS bus
LSS::initBus(Serial, LSS_BAUD);

But messing with this line has lead to the servo not receiving commands at all. I’ve looked at the .h file for the LSS library but haven’t been able to figure it out.

Thanks!

1 Like

Hey @ekjaynes!

It seems what is happening here is that you are using the same serial bus for both communicating with your LSS and also your serial monitor window. Many of the Arduino boards that exist (ex: Arduino Uno and many others based on the ATmega328 chip) have only one hardware serial port. Therefore, using that port (ex: Serial) will lead to everything you do on that bus being shown in the serial monitor since it is the same hardware bus that is used with the USB<>UART interface to program/communicate with the Arduino board.

There are two typical options in this case:

1. Use a board that has 2 or more hardware UART peripherals, such as an Arduino Mega (ex: boards based on the ATmega2560) or a Teensy (I think version 3.0 & up have 3+ hardware ports!).